Dr. Jason Adelman Earns John M. Eisenberg Award for Individual Achievement

Jason S. Adelman, MD, MS, a chief patient safety officer and associate chief quality officer and friend of the Jewish Healthcare Foundation (JHF) has been awarded the Individual Achievement Award in the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards in recognition of his achievements to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF) present Eisenberg Awards annually to recognize major achievements to improve patient safety and healthcare equity. John Eisenberg, MD, MBA was a friend of JHF and an impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement, whose ongoing support and leadership at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) assisted the Pittsburgh Regional Health Initiative to achieve its early successes.

Dr. Adelman is the executive director of the Center for Patient Safety Research; director, Patient Safety Research Fellowship, Columbia University Irving Medical Center and New York-Presbyterian; associate professor of medicine (in biomedical informatics) and vice chair for quality and patient safety, Department of Medicine, Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons. He is a member of PRHI's Patient Safety Technology Challenge Advisory Board.

He is a leader and innovator in the medical errors field, developing novel methods to measure and prevent errors in health IT systems. Among his key accomplishments is the development of the Wrong-Patient Retract-and-Reorder (RAR) Measure that detects wrong patient orders in electronic health record data. The RAR Measure has subsequently facilitated a large body of patient safety research, including medication errors and wrong-patient orders in neonatal intensive care units.

As executive director and founder of the Center for Patient Safety Research, Dr. Adelman has led several National Institutes of Health and AHRQ-funded projects to test safety interventions across the interventions' lifespans. His far-reaching impact has contributed to national and international safety recommendations, including from The Joint Commission and NQF.

JHF Welcomes new Policy Director, Carolyn Byrnes, ...
Chris Hart Advances Safety for All

Related Posts

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.jhf.org/